Financial aid?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

heartman1998

Reaction score
I'm a non-trad, international student in my 30s. I currently have a high-paying job, but I will be quitting if and when I get an admission. Parents are retired. I'm a permanent resident of the US (green card).

How is need-based aid determined for students like myself? Should I try to get offers from schools I am not truly interested in to use as leverage during negotiations? Anything I should say during interviews? Or is all this negotiation only done post-admission?

GPA: 3.7
MCAT: 524
Research: few thousand hours, 10+ pubs
Volunteering: 500 hours
T10: ugrad
WARS: 90+

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
There is very little need-based aid in medical school.
There are schools with a large endowment for recruitment, though.
Do not apply to schools you would not attend.
Do not talk about money at the interview stage! It would be a huge turn-off and it's not the interviewers role.
Many schools do not negotiate, but there is no harm in trying once you are accepted.

Reactions: 4 users
With a MCAT of 524, some schools might make you a merit aid offer to get you to enroll. Your 10+ publications won't hurt, either, in that regard. Good luck!

Don't bother with schools you wouldn't consider attending even if they gave you a free ride. Aside from that, wait for the offers of admission and financial aid packages and see what your options are. Some admitted applicants will say, "I am getting x from school A, can you match that?" The school can always say, "no" but it doesn't hurt to ask after you've been offered admisson.

Reactions: 2 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Thank you for the feedback!